Bernard Shaw (4 Volumes). Michael Holroyd.

Bernard Shaw (4 Volumes)

New York: Random House, 1988-1992. First Editions. Complete in four volumes. 8vo. Various paginations. Index. Illustrations. Fine copies in color printed dustjackets. Item #19695
ISBN: 0394525779

Volume I. 1856-1898 The Search for Love; Volume II. 1898-1918 The Pursuit of Power; Volume III. 1918-1950 The Lure of Fantasy; and Volume IV. 1950-1991 The Last Laugh. George Bernard Shaw (1856 – 1950), known at his insistence simply as Bernard Shaw, was an Irish playwright, critic, polemicist and political activist. His influence on Western theatre, culture and politics extended from the 1880s to his death and beyond. He wrote more than sixty plays, including major works such as Man and Superman (1902), Pygmalion (1912) and Saint Joan (1923). With a range incorporating both contemporary satire and historical allegory, Shaw became the leading dramatist of his generation, and in 1925 was awarded the Nobel Prize in Literature.

Price: $75.00

See all items in Literature & Poetry
See all items by