Hotel Del Monte Menus (Complete Set of 12). Jo J. Mora.

Hotel Del Monte Menus (Complete Set of 12)

Monterey, CA: Hotel Del Monte, 1936. 1st. Original wraps. 10" x 4 3/4" bi-fold; 10" x 9 1/2" opened. Cream heavy card stock with a distinctive black illustration by Mora on front cover; information and menu printed inside. Seldom seen complete set of 12 menus. Uniformly near fine to fine (3 menus have minor marks on front covers, not affecting the images). This set comes in a worn cream envelope slightly bigger in size than the menus. It is unusual to find a complete set of these menus. Item #15186

The artwork on these menus was originally created as 1 years' worth of advertising for the Hotel Del Monte (circa 1933-1934) for various publications. The hotel then determined to use the same artwork for the menus; a complimentary set could be had simply by asking the waiter. Each menu has a different date; a story about the artwork on the cover is written inside facing the menu. (Grandeau-Shorts 1 Menus:b) The dates and titles of each menu in this set from 1936 are: Tuesday, July 7 - The Harbor Of Refuge Sunday, July 19 - The Reward Of The Pathfinder Sunday, July 26 - Mother Of The Missions Saturday, July 25 - California Began Here Wednesday, August 5 - Old Spain Still Lives Thursday, August 6 - Heritage Of A Romantic Past Friday, August 7 - The Month Was December Sunday, August 9 - Trails The Caballeros Rode Sunday, August 9 - "To Live Long And Without Care..." Monday, August 10 - Yankee Vs. Caballero Monday, August 10 - Manana Tuesday, August 11 - Monterey Surrenders Next day shipping. Celebrating our 17th year - all domestic orders ship with Delivery Confirmation Tracking Number - Images available upon request.

Price: $1,500.00

See all items in Arts & Photography
See all items by